Firebird - Master Series 9

Karina Canellakis - Conductor
Natsuko Yoshimoto - Violin

Mozart - Symphony No.35 'Haffner'
Bruch - Violin Concerto No.1
Stravinsky - The Firebird: Suite (1945 Version)

A feather-touch on a single string can create magic. Natsuko Yoshimoto, ASO’s Concertmaster, plays the Romantic, ever-popular First Violin Concerto of Max Bruch. She is joined by Karina Canellakis from New York – herself a fine violinist, and now highly sought as a conductor.


Enchantment or sleep-deprivation? Mozart wrote the music of the ‘Haffner’ Symphony late at night to an unrealistic deadline. When he revisited it sixth months later, he couldn’t remember a note, but was delighted to find it a sparkling, effervescent work.


Stravinsky’s vivid 1910 ballet score begins in shadow. Ivan is bewitched as he enters the garden of evil King Kashchei. But when The Firebird appears, the spell of darkness is broken, and the finale is simply dazzling.




Classical Conversations


Free for ticket holders, held one hour prior to the performance in the Adelaide Town Hall. ASO Principal Clarinet Dean Newcomb and Principal Cello Simon Cobcroft discuss the works by Mozart, Bruch and Stravinsky in tonight's program. 

Watch Video

Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 - Gil Shaham - Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France
Stravinsky: The Firebird / Gergiev · Vienna Philarmonic · Salzburg Festival 2000
Mozart: Symphony No. 35 “Haffner” / Petrenko · Berliner Philharmoniker

Leave a Comment

Buy Tickets
Save up to 22.5% by buying 3 or more concerts as part of a Subscription


  • Thu 1 Nov, 2018 6:30pm
  • Fri 2 Nov, 2018 8:00pm


  • Adult$115.00
  • Concession $99.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • Child$45.00
  • Family $288.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children
A Reserve
  • Adult$100.00
  • Concession $85.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • 30 and under $50.00
  • Child$40.00
  • Family $252.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children
B Reserve
  • Adult$85.00
  • Concession $71.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • Child$35.00
  • Family $216.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children
C Reserve
  • Adult$70.00
  • Concession $60.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • Child$35.00
  • Family $189.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children

A $5.00 Transaction fee applies for tickets purchased through Adelaide Symphony Orchestra


Subscriptions on sale now! Subscribe online today to as few as three concerts to gain access ticket discounts, and special subscriber benefits.

C O D A 

(Thursday night only)

After the concert Natsuko Yoshimoto (violin), Dean Newcomb (clarinet), and Konstantin Shamray (piano) return to the stage to perform Dances from The Soldiers Tale by Igor Stravinsky.




A Time for Heroes - Master Series 6

Fri 21 September 8:00pm
Sat 22 September 6:30pm
Adelaide Town Hall
Info & Tickets


Love & War - Master Series 7

Fri 28 September 8:00pm
Sat 29 September 6:30pm
Adelaide Town Hall
Info & Tickets

< Back to Master Series