New Worlds - Master Series 8

Douglas Boyd - Conductor
Anthony Marwood - Violin

Cathy Milliken - New Work [World Premiere]
Schumann - Violin Concerto
Dvořák - Symphony No.9 'From the New World'

There are many reasons why Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony continues to be a favourite: the melding of Bohemian and American musical influences, the sublime Largo, the dramatic arc linking all four movements. It became an instant hit at its premiere 125 years ago.


Such things can happen at premieres – so don’t miss the new work by our Composer in Association, Cathy Milliken! Anthony Marwood then brings his customary flair and originality to Schumann’s Violin Concerto, a piece that was hidden away for 80 years by those who feared it presaged something of the composer’s subsequent mental collapse. In fact, it’s delightfully tuneful music, especially the violin and cello dialogue of the slow movement, and its final Polonaise has a beguiling simplicity.

CODA / Thursday night only: After the concert Anthony Marwood and Natsuko Yoshimoto return to the stage to perform Dvořák’s  miniatures.


Presenting Partner



The Mingling Room


FREE. One hour prior to the concerts in the Meeting Hall (located just behind the Adelaide Town Hall). There’ll be a bar so after the pre-concert presentation, you can linger, buy a drink and discuss the music with new and old friends before enjoying the concert.


ASO’s Composer in Association Cathy Milliken and ASO’s Artistic Coordinator Andrew Groch discuss the inspiration, impetus, and process behind the composer’s newly commissioned work for the ASO.





If you're aged 30 & Under, ReMastered is your social night at the symphony. The package includes a post-concert event with drinks, food and entertainment all in your ticket price.

Tickets are $75 - purchase yours here.

Are you coming with friends? For every 6 tickets you purchase in one transaction you'll only pay for 5!

Watch Video

Schumann: Violin Concerto | Saraste/Zimmermann/Kölner Philharmonie
Dvořák: Symphony No.9 | Abbado/Berlin Philharmonic

Leave a Comment

Buy Tickets
Save up to 22.5% by buying 3 or more concerts as part of a Subscription


  • Thu 26 Sep, 2019 6:30pm
  • Fri 27 Sep, 2019 8:00pm


2 hrs, including 20 min interval (Thurs CODA additional 25 mins)


  • Adult$120.00
  • Concession $105.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • Child$50.00
  • Family $297.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children
A Reserve
  • Adult$103.00
  • Concession $90.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • 30 and under $50.00
  • Child$45.00
  • Family $259.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children
B Reserve
  • Adult$85.00
  • Concession $74.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • Child$40.00
  • Family $218.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children
C Reserve
  • Adult$70.00
  • Concession $61.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • Child$35.00
  • Family $183.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children

A $5.00 transaction fee applies for tickets purchased through Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

Subscriptions on sale now! Subscribe online today to as few as three concerts to gain access to ticket discounts, and special subscriber benefits.




Winter Fire - Master Series 4

Thu 27 June 11:30am
Fri 28 June 8:00pm
Sat 29 June 6:30pm
Adelaide Town Hall
Info & Tickets

< Back to Classical