Gigs at Grainger 1: Now Meets Now

Ross McHenry - Curator & Electric Bass
Matthew Sheens - Piano
Myele Manzanza - Drum Kit
Adam Page - Conductor

In a first, the award-winning composer and bassist Ross McHenry teams up with the ASO for a specially curated concert celebrating the unique and changing cultural landscape of Australian creative music. Considered an important figure in the world of contemporary Australian improvised music, Ross explores a modern Australian cultural identity within the context of an increasingly interconnected global network.


Gigs at Grainger 1 features two World Premieres:  a major new work written by Ross McHenry for improvising piano and the ASO featuring acclaimed Adelaide born, New York-based pianist Matthew Sheens. Born out of a longstanding musical relationship between McHenry and Sheens this music highlights Sheens incredible capacity as an improviser, paired with McHenry’s unique soundscape.  Also, a new symphonic work written by Matthew Sheens plus music from the Ross McHenry Trio featuring Matthew Sheens and Myele Manzanza.


Join us for a special night of ground-breaking inspirational improvisation.

Leave a Comment

Buy Tickets
Add this concert to a subscription, as a subscription extra


  • Fri 22 Feb, 2019 8:00pm


2 hrs, including 20 min interval


A Reserve
  • All Tickets$40.00

A $5.00 transaction fee applies for single tickets purchased through Adelaide Symphony Orchestra


Subscriptions on sale now! This concert can be added as an extra to an eligible ASO subscription.




Gigs at Grainger 2: The Fortunes of Exile

Fri 30 August 8:00pm
Grainger Studio
Info & Tickets

< Back to Gigs at Grainger