Symphonic Dances - Master Series 6

Dalia Stasevska - Conductor
Louis Lortie - Piano

John Adams - The Chairman Dances from 'Nixon in China'
Ravel - Piano Concerto in G
Rachmaninov - Symphonic Dances

It’s all too easy to be swept off your feet. Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G might just be the coolest concerto going around: jazzy, suave and neat, a product of the Roaring Twenties. And who better to glide through the dreamy waltz of its Adagio than Louis Lortie?


The dance begins when Finnish-Ukranian conductor Dalia Stasevska gives her downbeat and John Adams’ “foxtrot for orchestra” shuffles in with its mesmerising mix of urbane rhythms and nostalgic Hollywood strings. The evening culminates in the Symphonic Dances of Rachmaninov, with the composer’s trademark melodic gifts enriched by the impulse for physical movement. The vigorous steps of its finale, a dance of life and death, will leave us all breathless.


Presenting Partner



The Mingling Room


FREE. One hour prior to the concerts in the Meeting Hall (located just behind the Adelaide Town Hall). There’ll be a bar so after the pre-concert presentation, you can linger, buy a drink and discuss the music with new and old friends before enjoying the concert.


Join musicologist Mark Carroll and ASO Double Bassist Belinda Kendall-Smith as they connect the musical worlds of John Adams, Ravel, and Rachmaninov.






If you're aged 30 & Under, ReMastered is your social night at the symphony. The package includes a post-concert event with drinks, food and entertainment all in your ticket price.



Tickets are $75 - purchase yours here



Are you coming with friends? For every 6 tickets you purchase in one transaction you'll only pay for 5!

Watch Video

Adams: The Chairman Dances | Rattle/City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G Major | Termirkanov/Argerich/The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances | Cannelakis/BBC Symphony Orchestra

Leave a Comment

Buy Tickets
Save up to 22.5% by buying 3 or more concerts as part of a Subscription


  • Fri 16 Aug, 2019 8:00pm
  • Sat 17 Aug, 2019 6:30pm


1 hr 45 mins, including 20 min interval


  • Adult$120.00
  • Concession $105.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • Child$50.00
  • Family $297.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children
A Reserve
  • Adult$103.00
  • Concession $90.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • 30 and under $50.00
  • Child$45.00
  • Family $259.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children
B Reserve
  • Adult$85.00
  • Concession $74.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • Child$40.00
  • Family $218.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children
C Reserve
  • Adult$70.00
  • Concession $61.00 Pensioner, Student, Unemployed
  • Child$35.00
  • Family $183.00 2 x Adult and 2 x Children

A $5.00 transaction fee applies for tickets purchased through Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

Subscriptions on sale now! Subscribe online today to as few as three concerts to gain access to ticket discounts, and special subscriber benefits.




Winter Fire - Master Series 4

Thu 27 June 11:30am
Fri 28 June 8:00pm
Sat 29 June 6:30pm
Adelaide Town Hall
Info & Tickets


Faith & Beauty - Master Series 5

Fri 12 July 8:00pm
Sat 13 July 6:30pm
Adelaide Town Hall
Info & Tickets

< Back to Master Series