Season 2024 On Sale Now

Season 2024

The Adventure Begins – Master Series 1

  • Where Adelaide Town Hall
  • Prices
The Adventure Begins – Master Series 1

Tickets for this event are no longer available.

  • 2 hrs Duration* Due to the nature of live music, the duration listed is an estimate only.
  • 20 mins Interval
  • Violin Solo Instrument
  • Adelaide Town Hall Location
  • Mingling Room Category


When Russians begin a story, it’s worth paying attention. Rimsky-Korsakov’s symphonic retelling of The Arabian Nights brings these fantastic tales to life in vivid orchestral colour. Fall under the spell of Scheherazade’s violin and be swept up in an exotic adventure: perilous sea voyages, mysterious princes, a romance, a chase, a storm… Conductor Hendrik Vestmann, with his wealth of operatic experience, is sure to deliver an especially dramatic account.

Shostakovich’s explosive Festive Overture cracks open the champagne on 2020, and then Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto begins as a quiet heart-to-heart between soloist and orchestra. Grace Clifford, our Emerging Artist in Association, will draw listeners in to Tchaikovsky’s increasingly passionate narrative, leading us to its audacious, vivacious finale.


Your concert ticket includes entry to The Mingling Room, a free one hour talk held in the Meeting Hall, located just behind Adelaide Town Hall.

Free Pre-Concert Talks

Discover more about the music with Classical Conversations, our free pre-concert talks before each Symphony Series concert. Enjoy relaxed discussions where artists, conductors, composers, and ASO players share personal insights about the music. Classical Conversations occur one hour prior to each concert in the stalls of the Adelaide Town Hall.

Program to include

  • Shostakovich Festive Overture 
  • Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto 
  • Rimsky-Korsakov Scheherazade
Download program notes

Search Results

Filter Results