Rachmaninov: The Symphonies · Concert 1

  • Where Adelaide Town Hall
  • Prices Adults from $79, Children from $30
Rachmaninov: The Symphonies · Concert 1

Tickets for this event are no longer available.

  • 1 hour 45 minutes, inc 20 minute interval Duration* Due to the nature of live music, the duration listed is an estimate only.
  • Adelaide Town Hall Location
  • Season 2024 Category


A rare opportunity to hear all three of Rachmaninov’s mighty symphonies performed in one unmissable immersive concert series.

We begin with his ominous Symphony No.1, where restless themes are cast back and forth, searching for a peace that never comes. His widely revered Symphony No.2 opens with mood-building strings that unfold to reach a powerful climax. The third and final symphony is packed full of wonderful melody, glittering orchestral colour and brings the series to a spectacular conclusion. Rachmaninov’s glorious symphonies are paired with Gershwin’s iconic Rhapsody in Blue in its 100th birthday year, Finzi’s contemplative Eclogue and classics by Copland, Barber, and Prokofiev.

Andrew Litton is generously supported by Diana McLaurin and Joan Lyons.

Program to include

  • Finzi Eclogue
  • Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue
  • Rachmaninov Symphony No.1
Download program notes

Search Results

Filter Results